Activation Lock

Activation Lock is a security feature on iOS7 and iOS8 which locks your Apple device to your iCloud account.

We cannot accept any devices that are Activation Locked and we require you to remove your iCloud account from your device before sending it to us.

Apple iCloud Logo

How do I remove my iCloud account
from my device?

Removing your iCloud account from your device is easy and can either be done via the device itself or via icloud.com.

Please follow either Option 1 or Option 2 instructions below. Option 2 is recommended if your device is faulty.

Step 4 - Select Reset Step 9 - Enter Apple ID password when prompted

Option 1

Removing iCloud account via your device
(This will also data wipe your device)

  1. Turn device ON
  2. Select Settings
  3. Select General
  4. Select Reset
  5. Select Erase All Content and Settings
  6. Enter Passcode if prompted
  7. Press Erase iPhone
  8. Press Erase iPhone again
  9. Enter Apple ID password when prompted
  10. Press Erase

Device will switch off and restart. This may take several minutes. Please do not switch device off during reset.

Step 4 - Select device from Device list (top left hand side) Step 6 - Select Remove from Find My iPhone (bottom of screen)

Option 2

Removing iCloud account via icloud.com

  1. Device must be switched OFF*
  2. Log into icloud.com with Apple ID and password
  3. Select Find My iPhone
  4. Select device from All Devices drop down (top, centre of screen)
  5. Device pop up box will appear
  6. Select Remove from Account
    (If you don't see Remove from Account, select All Devices again, then click the Remove (x) button next to the device.)
  7. Select Remove on confirmation message

*Device must be switched off, otherwise 'Remove from Account' or 'Remove (x)' option will not appear.

Activation Lock is only applicable to devices that are running iOS7 or iOS8

If your device is running an earlier version of iOS (iOS6 or below), removing your iCloud account from your device is not compulsory. To find out which iOS version your device is running, please go to Settings » General » About » Version.

Step 4

Step 4 - Select Reset

Step 9

Step 5 - Enter Apple ID password when prompted

Step 4

Step 4 - Select device from Device list (top left hand side)

Step 6

Step 6 - Select Remove from Find My iPhone (bottom of screen)